International Society for Fracture Repair

International Society for Fracture Repair

Mission statement

The International Society for Fracture Repair (I.S.F.R.) is embodied in an organisation of individuals from around the world who are dedicated to the advancement and interchange of science of fracture repair and its application to improvement of patient care.


After being active approximately six years as an informal club formed by Professor Hans K. Uhthoff, MD the Society was founded in 1987 and has a history of active development and expansion. Currently this Society comprises some 200 members and is organized by an elected Board of Directors. Membership is by application and recommendation. The Society holds a number of different meeting activities (the I.S.F.R Conferences, the I.S.F.R Symposia and the I.S.F.R Workshops) for the interchange and advancement of science related to its mission. A general Conference is announced on a biennial basis with the venue rotating around the continents of the world.

The most recent general conference was held in Kyoto, Japan on November 6-9, 2012. Biennial Conferences are announced by the local organizers and open to all, but with discounted rates for I.S.F.R. members. Also the other I.S.F.R. meeting activities might be open to all. The Society has a house journal, currently the Journal of Orthopaedic Trauma, in which it encourages publication from the membership. The journal also provides for the Society’s newsletter to which contributions are welcome.

The Society is a not-for profits organisation governed by a constitution and byelaws. It is currently undergoing registration as a UK Charity  

ISFR Past Presidents

Mathias Bostrom  Mathias Bostrom 2006-2008

David Marsh  David Marsh 2004-2006

John Kenwright  John Kenwright 2002-2004

Lutz Claes  Lutz Claes 2000-2002

Thomas Einhorn Thomas Einhorn 1998-2000

Edmund Y.S. Chao Edmund Y.S. Chao 1996-1998

Allen Goodship Allen Goodship 1994-1996

Lennart Stroemberg Lennart Stroemberg 1992-1994

Savio L.Y. Woo Savio L.Y. Woo 1990-1992

Paer Slaetis 1988-1990

Meetings & Events
Members Area
Constitution and By Laws
ISFR News and Events
Scientific Review
© International Society for Fracture Repair ISFR
International Society for Fracture Repair Your Practice Online